The News- Stop, Go, Stop, Go…When IS the best time to Buy?

I watch the News, just like all of you….From the doomsday predictions to the market trend that I get in my inbox everyday. I watch the local market, read the paper, follow internet news and speak to lenders weekly. I talk to my local politicians, family’s on the cusp of loosing their homes and people that are in short sale situations. I talk to renters, old lady’s that have lived in their homes for 60 years and every once and awhile I actually try and crunch down the bond market to see what we all can expect in the future….( I only attempt this on massive quantities of coffee…and my leg starts twitching like a new born calf~ but hey, if its for all of you…Ill sacrifice my own discomfort. )

I’m working with several First Time Home Buyers currently and every other day they have a freak out~ pending on how the news is reporting.  They ask my advise, have trust in me and this is something that I take very seriously. I want for them, what I would want for myself or my own family and this is what I say today…..

We cant control what we cant control- we cant control pricing, we cant control what happens in the future, and we cant control interest rates or the US Dollar. This is what I feel confident in….there are a lot of people much smarter than myself saying that interest rates are going up, housing prices have hit bottom and if you want to be a home owner for the next several years, now is the time. That’s the long and short of it, simplistic I know. I could pull 15 million charts and graphs that would boggle your mind to infinity and beyond but simply put- if you feel stable in your own life, with your income and job security. Yeah, a home is a really wonderful life investment.

I know when I pull in my own driveway, and see the window boxes I blistered myself making~  planted with flowers I painstakingly shopped for …with my porch light on and the wicker chairs blowing quietly in the wind complete with pillows I sewed and my daughters waiting at the bow window jumping up and down waving…this investment, best I ever made. It’s Home….My Home.

About Dawn Olander

Milwaukee County REALTOR
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment